Surreal features a Live Editor that lets users select content regions by simply clicking on the part of the page they want to edit. Users know exactly what region they’re editing and even see a live preview before publishing. Editable content regions are indicated by the following icon:
By design, pages viewed in the Live Editor cannot be interacted with. That is,
users will not be able to select links or other elements on the page. In addition,
body will be stripped prior to
displaying. Think of what you see in the Live Editor as a “content canvas” instead
of an actual page.
If you need to programmatically detect whether or not your page is being rendered in the CMS, you can use one of these methods.
The rich-text editor (or “editor”) is shown when a user selects a content region. Features of the rich-text editor include everything from text formatting to working with documents, images, and media. You can also manage lists, links, tables, and repeatable regions in the editor.
The features of the editor will vary depending on the type of content region being edited.
The Page Properties dialog can be brought up by selecting the Edit Page Properties button:
This feature lets you change the page’s title, description, and keywords to optimize SEO. Changes are saved only once the page is published.
A revision is a copy of your page that gets stored in our database for future use. Every time a page is published, a historical revision is created so you can revert to it and keep track of who made edits to the page.You can also save your changes as a draft so you can finish working on them later. Drafts are simply revisions that don’t get published to the site right away. To publish a draft, you must open the draft, make any additional changes, and then publish it. After publishing, your draft will be converted to a historical revision. In addition, you can schedule changes to be published automatically at a certain time. The CMS will queue your changes and, when the time comes, attempt to upload the changes via (S)FTP. For this to work, your server must be online when the scheduled time comes. If the CMS is unable to publish your changes for any reason, the scheduled revision will turn into a draft and you will receive an email informing you of the error.
To edit a revision, click on the View Revisions button in the toolbar:
Scheduled revisions are represented by an hourglass, drafts by a yellow page, and historical revisions by a white page:
Administrators and privileged clients will also have access to edit the full source of each page. This is useful for adding and removing content regions, or for any operation that might require access to the entire page source. To access this feature, select the Edit Full HTML Source button: